NHS: Making a Difference

The HHS National Honor Society kicked off the school year with 15 new members, including four new council members. The Nation Honor Society is an elite organization that accepts students who meet the requirements in academics, leadership, school activities, and community service.

After a recent vote, NHS elected the following council:   Bogdana Stus, president; Laura Willis, vice-president; Janine Munoz, secretary; and Rachel Meredith, treasurer.

According to HHS advisor, Mrs. Lisa Kenny, this year the NHS will introduce some new ideas and put them in action.

In honor of alumni Alyssa Ruggieri, the NHS will contribute to “Paint it Purple,“  an organization that supports women who have been abused. In addition, NHS will continue the tradition of the holiday candy grams, toys for tots, spirit T-shirts, and many other successful past fundraisers.

Kenny has been running the program for 15+ years. “Students who are in NHS have to understand that it is their duty as a NHS member to make a difference in the community; whatever it takes, state or nationwide— just to make a difference,” said Kenny.

To anyone who is contemplating becoming a part of the NHS, be sure to talk to Ms. Kenny. Ask questions, get a list of requirements, and  begin the process as soon as possible.

The Hopatcong NHS encourages students to join and make a difference in the community.

Nation Honors Society Members


Hannah Bibeault

Ryan Clarke

Sara Elgazzar

Jesse Farrell

Hailey Krueger

Alexis Lerner

Rachel Meredith – TREA.

Janine Munoz – SEC.

MaryRose Purdue

Claudia Saavedra

Patrick Stanton

Bogdana Stus – PRES.

Belle Ward

Laura Willis – V.P.

Jonathan Yohanan






Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *